In the UK you do not need a driving licence to ride a quad bike / ATV off-road on private land. If you are just riding off-road you do not need to tax or register your ATV / UTV. However, there is an ‘off-road register’ where you can record the details of your quad, which can help the police find it if it is ever stolen.
If a tax payment is required, the tax class dependent upon how you use your quad bike
- Limited use tax class for bikes used on the road
- Agricultural machine class for bikes not licensed for road use.
If you are going to drive your vehicle on the road, you will need to have a full car license or a category B1 license if it was issued before January 1997.
If you want to carry passengers, do not exceed the limit of the number of right seats. Only carry passengers if the ATV / UTV is safe to do so.
In the UK, drivers and passengers in England, Wales and Scotland do not have to wear a crash helmet however it is strongly recommended for your own safety. In Northern Ireland, you must wear a crash helmet whilst riding if not you can be fined up to £500.
Agricultural Quad Bikes
If your vehicle is for agriculture, horticulture and forestry it needs to be registered as a light agricultural vehicle.
An agricultural quad bike that is used on the road does not need an MOT, but it does need to be registered and licensed for road use. It also must have a number plate and have third party insurance.
The agricultural vehicle will also need lights if being used after dark, which come as standard on all Polaris vehicles, as well as the option to buy additional genuine Polaris accessories for your preferred customisation.
Vehicles homologated for agricultural, horticultural and forestry use do not require you to pay vehicle tax.
It is important to check the legal obligations for drivers on the UK Government website to make sure your vehicle is correctly taxed.
Share this story
You may also like the following
A driver's license is not required to operate a vehicle off-highway, but if your driving privilege is suspended or revoked, you cannot operate any vehicle either on or off-highway in California.Do you need a driver's license to drive a four wheeler in Michigan? ›
You need a driver's license to drive a motorcycle, but you do not need a driver's license to operate an ATV. ATVs are more accessible and popular with children and teenagers because you do not need a driver's licenses. Children as young as 6 years old are riding ATVs, which can be very dangerous.What do you need to ride UTV in Utah? ›
In Utah, youth operators between the ages of 8 and 15 must possess an OHV education certificate in order to operate an OHV on any public land, roads, or trails. Riders who are 16 or older may operate an OHV if they posses either a valid driver license or an approved education certificate.Do you need a ATV license in MN? ›
However, you do need a standard driver's license to operate your ATV on roads. This applies even if you're just crossing the road briefly or riding in the ditch alongside the road. Separate from a driver's license, anyone born after July 1, 1987, must take an ATV safety course to drive on public land or trails.How old do you have to be to drive a UTV in California? ›
CVC Section 38600 reads: A person operating a recreational off-highway vehicle shall be at least 16 years of age, or be directly supervised in the vehicle by a parent or guardian or by an adult authorized by the parent or guardian.What do I need to ride a ATV in California? ›
All riders must wear helmets. Adults do not need an ATV safety certificate when riding alone, though might need to acquire one when riding with a child. Riders aged 14-17 must obtain an ATV safety certificate. Riders aged 14-17 require adult supervision to operate an ATV.Do you need a license to drive a UTV in Michigan? ›
To operate as an OHV in Michigan, you must obtain an Off-Road Vehicle License through the Michigan Department of Natural Resources and display the corresponding decal on the rear of your UTV. An additional trail permit is required for state-run trails and some OHV areas.Do you need a license to drive a side by side in Michigan? ›
The DNR issues licenses for all ORVs on an annual basis. The annual fee for an ORV license is $26.25. In addition, an ORV trail permit is required to operate on state-designated ORV trails, routes, or areas. The cost of the ORV Trail permit is an additional $10.00.How old do you have to be to ride a UTV in Michigan? ›
(1) Subject to subsection (17), a parent or legal guardian of a child less than 16 years of age shall not permit the child to operate an ORV unless the child is under the direct visual supervision of an adult and the child has an ORV safety certificate in his or her immediate possession.Do you have to wear a helmet in a side by side in Utah? ›
Basic OHV Laws and Rules:
We advise everyone to wear a helmet. It can save your life. Properly worn, a helmet won't reduce vision or hearing and helps cut out windblast. A helmet is mandatory on public land for riders under the age of 18.
An off-highway vehicle (OHV) is a motor vehicle capable of off-highway travel during winter or summer. OHV's include all-terrain vehicles (ATV's), four-wheelers, three- wheelers, dirt bikes, motorcycles, trail bikes, and snowmobiles.Can I drive my side by side on the road in Utah? ›
Unless a street or highway is designated as open for street-legal ATV use by the controlling highway authority in accordance with Section 41-22-10.5, a person may not operate a street-legal ATV on a street or highway if the highway is under the jurisdiction of a county of the first class, a municipality that is within ...Do you need 4 wheel drive on an ATV? ›
2WD is better for racing because it offers higher speeds, and more control which is why most sport quads come in 2WD. The main advantage of a 4WD ATVs is improved traction, particularly in challenging off-road conditions like mud, snow, sand, or steep hills.Do you need an ATV license in Wisconsin? ›
ATV/UTV riding in Wisconsin
ATV and UTV operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 who are at least 12 years old for ATV(and at least 16 years old for UTV) must complete an ATV and UTV safety certification course in order to operate on public ATV/UTV trails and areas in Wisconsin.
Age 12 to 15
May operate an ATV on public lands and frozen waters and make direct crossing of roadways with a valid safety certificate is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid driver's license.
In California there are some specific areas that are designated for OHV use. In California, it's against the law to drive an ATV on a freeway. An ATV may only be used off-road. Running an ATV on paved or asphalted roadways is also dangerous.How old do you have to be to drive an ATV in CA? ›
No person under 14 years of age shall operate an all-terrain vehicle on public lands of this state unless the person satisfies one of the conditions set forth in Section 38503 and, in addition, is accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian or is accompanied by and under the direct ...Is an ATV considered a motor vehicle California? ›
15.155 Utility-Terrain Vehicle (UTV) CVC §531
A motor vehicle: Designed for operation off of the highway. Suspended on four tires. Has a steering wheel for steering control.
You can legally drive an ATV on a private road as long as you're the property owner. You may not drive an ATV on a private road or on property you do not own, it's considered trespassing, even if the road isn't marked as private property.