Trying to find out how to apply for your Florida concealed weapons license? Or did you get a letter in the mail saying your permit was about to expire? In this article I will go over the ways to apply for your Florida CCW permit for the first time, or renew if yours is about to expire.
How Much Does a Florida CCW Permit Cost?
The right to defend your life isn’t free. Here is a breakdown of the cost:
|Type||Fingerprint||Initial Fee||Total||Renewal Fee|
|Out of State Resident||$42||$55||$97||$45 Renewal Fee + $42 Fingerprint Fee|
Essentially the cost is the same for first time CCW applicants. You only need to get fingerprinted a single time if you are a Florida resident, but out of state residents must get new fingerprints every time they renew their concealed weapons permit which adds an additional $42 to the $45 renewal fee for a total $87 for each renewal.
What you will need:
- A driver license or other form of state issued photo ID
- A copy of the certificate of training you completed and confirming firearm proficiency.
- Money. Bring a way to pay the fees detailed above but remember that the FDACS Regional Offices do not accept cash, so make sure to bring an alternative form of payment.
- Any documentation with the details of name changes (marriage, divorce, etc).
- Certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you if you have ever been arrested.
- If born outside the U.S. bring the appropriate documentation showing your citizenship status. If unsure whether or not you are eligible to receive your Florida CCW permit, check the eligibility info located here.
- Active duty law enforcement, correctional or probation officers with a Florida law enforcement agency will need to provide evidence of employment. If you are one of these and retired, have a copy of an official document that includes your date of retirement and the agency from which you retired. But note that this does not apply to Federal, or out of state law enforcement retirees.
Florida concealed weapons permits are good for 7 years. Around 95 days prior to the expiration of your permit, FDACS will send you a notification form complete with a renewal application and instructions for filling it out.
If you fill out the application and return it before you license expires there are no fees beyond the $45 renewal fee. However, if you wait until after your license expires, you must pay an additional $15 late fee.
Don’t wait too long though. If you want to renew your Florida CCW permit after it’s been expired for 6 months or more, you must complete the entire process like it was your first time. This means you will need to get fingerprinted again and pay the $42 fee associated with that.
Submitting your application online is generally the most popular way to get a CCW permit. All required fees already discussed apply to this method of application so have all that on hand when you are ready to begin.
To submit online, you will first need to gather the following:
- Your CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION from a firearms training class or other document that evidences your competency with a firearm. Your training must include live fire using a firearm and ammunition.
- A digital, passport-style photo taken within the last 30 days.
- Your photo and all documents should be uploaded to your computer prior to starting this online application.
- A credit card, debit card, or electronic check for payment. All payments are non-refundable and non-transferable.
When you are ready, click the green button located here to begin your application.
If you would prefer to submit your application by mail you may do so by first downloading and following the Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Application Instructions and filling out the application. Your application will be given a unique tracking number at this point.
After you have finished this part you will then need to make an appointment for fingerprinting at your local Sheriff’s office or police department.
Then mail your completed application with all the required documentation to:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687
All the fees are the same as well as the processing time it takes to approve your application.
To submit your application in person, you need to make an appointment at one of the 9 regional offices of the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS). You can find the closest one to your area by following this link.
After clicking on the correct regional office, click the tab for Concealed Weapon License then pick the date and time when you want your appointment scheduled.
You are also able to take your application to an authorized Florida Tax Collectors office near you, but you may pay an additional $22 for a “convenience fee.”
Make sure you take with you all required forms and documents needed to complete the appointment.
When you arrive at the Regional office, ask to use a computer station where you will complete the online application form. When you are finished, a staff member will review your application then take you for fingerprinting and a picture for your permit.
Then you will be asked to, “swear and affirm that you have been furnished with a copy of Chapter 790, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and that you are knowledgeable of its provisions.” Chapter 709 is about the laws surrounding the legal carrying of a concealed weapon and it’s recommended that you read these prior to your appointment so you know exactly what it is you are swearing to.
It should take around an hour from start to finish to finish your application and then FDACS is required to send you your confirmation or denial within 90 days, providing there are no other delays and the application has been satisfactorily completed.
You can check on the status of your permit by going here. You will need your tracking number which begins with the letter T and is followed by 9 numbers.
Now for the disclaimer: I am not currently, nor do I intend to become a lawyer. Seek out your own expert opinion in the law. If you have information that can clarify or reform the article, please feel free to leave a comment below so it can be addressed.
VisitConcealedccarry.comfor everything you need relating to CCW.
You can renew your concealed weapon license in person at an FDACS regional office or an authorized Florida tax collector's office in your area. Please note that on making payment or submitting your renewal online, the renewal process cannot be completed at a regional office or tax collector's office.Who do I call to renew my concealed weapons permit Florida? ›
Appointments are required for renewal services; call (850) 245-5300 to schedule. We will take your photograph during your appointment.How soon can you renew your concealed carry permit in Florida? ›
Florida concealed weapons permit renewals can be made up to 180 days after the expiration date. There is a late fee of $15. If the permit has been expired for more than 180 days then a new license must be applied for.Does Florida have a lifetime concealed carry permit? ›
Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses that were issued on or after June 11, 2008, are valid for seven years. Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses that were issued before June 11, 2008, are only valid for five years. You can find the expiration date on the front of your license.Is Florida concealed Carry good in other states? ›
Section 790.015, Florida Statutes, allows Florida to recognize concealed weapon licenses issued by other states if the other state agrees to recognize Florida concealed weapon licenses.Can I renew my expired firearm license? ›
According to the SAPS' current policy, only amnesty allows those with expired firearm licences to apply for a new firearm licence for the firearm that is illegally in their possession (because an expired licence means you are in illegal possession).How long is a concealed weapons class certificate good for in Florida? ›
The current validity period for a Florida Concealed Weapon License is seven (7) years. The State of Florida concealed weapons license is good in (34) states. All instructors are Police Firearms Instructors and are certified through the State of Florida.Is Florida constitutional carry? ›
Concealed carry is currently legal in all 50 states but some states, such as Florida, require special training and a license before it is allowed. "Constitutional carry" allows both, without permits, licensing or training.What does CCW stand for? ›
Concealed carry, or carrying a concealed weapon (CCW), is the practice of carrying a weapon (such as a handgun) in public in a concealed manner, either on one's person or in close proximity. CCW is often practiced as a means of self-defense.What disqualifies you from getting a concealed carry permit in Florida? ›
Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm. Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force. Renouncement of U.S. citizenship. A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
|License Type||Fingerprint Processing Fee||Total|
|Concealed Weapon or Firearm: Florida Resident||$42||$119|
|Concealed Weapon or Firearm: Out of State Resident||$42||$119|
|Florida Law Enforcement Officer: Active||None||$77|
|Florida Law Enforcement Officer: Retired within preceding year||None||$22|
|State||Carry Permit Reciprocity Information|
- Any place of nuisance.
- Any police, sheriff or highway patrol station.
- Any detention facility, prison or jail.
- Any courthouse.
- Any courtroom.
- Any polling place.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital in Florida? Yes, except carry is not allowed in any hospital providing mental health services.Does Florida have nonresident CCW? ›
The Florida Carry permit allows a non-resident of the state of Florida to carry in Florida. Permit requires proof of a pistol safety class, fingerprints and passport photos. We provide free passport photo service for this permit – fingerprints must be done at your local police dept.Does Alabama recognize Florida concealed carry permit? ›
Alabama honors all out of state concealed carry permits; any person who has a concealed carry permit in another U.S. state can legally carry a firearm in Alabama and are subject to Alabama gun laws while in the state.Can I carry a gun in Florida with a Georgia permit? ›
Can I carry legal... No. Florida, like Michigan and New Hampshire, has a residency requirement in its reciprocity law. Florida does not recognize non-resident concealed carry permits from other states.What documents do I need for renewal of firearm licence? ›
- Completely filled SAPS 518(a) form.
- Original copy of official Identity document or certified copy of PRP.
- Valid Competency certificate.
- Two numbers of clear Passport-size colour photographs (only three months older)
- Original firearm license, permit or authorisation.
A certified copy of the proficiency certificate that you received where you got trained on how to handle a firearm. A certified copy of your identity document or passport. Two recent passport-size colour photographs that are not older than three months. A certified copy of your competency certificate.Has the firearm amnesty been extended? ›
Today, the Minister of Community Safety in the Western Cape, Adv. Albert Fritz, welcomes the extension on the deadline to make submissions on the Firearms Amendment Bill, granted by Minister Bheki Cele. The deadline has been extended to 2 August 2021.
- Applicants must be at least 21 years old. ...
- You must be a citizen of the US or legal resident alien.
- You must provide a certificate confirming you have completed a firearms training class.
- No felony convictions.
Gov. Ron DeSantis pushes Florida Legislature to pass open carry law - Axios Tampa Bay.Who can open carry in Florida? ›
Florida Statute § 790.25(5), allows for the open carry of a rifle or shotgun inside a private vehicle, by a person who is at least 18 years of age. Although legal, this is not necessarily a good idea and could cause unwanted attention from law enforcement of from those wanting to steal a firearm.What is hb103? ›
HB 103: Carrying of Firearms Without Licenses.Is CCW Left or right? ›
Short for counterclockwise, CCW is the rotation or movement of an object that's the opposite direction of the hands movement on a clock. Beginning from the top, a circular rotation moves to the left, and from the bottom rotation moves to the right.What CCW covers the most states? ›
Currently, the state concealed carry permit that has the highest recognition is from Ohio being honored in 38 states. If you wish to increase the number of states you can carry concealed in then the best option is to obtain multiple state permits.What does shall issue mean? ›
Shall issue means that as long as an applicant passes the basic requirements set out by state law, the issuing authority (county sheriff, police department, state police, etc.) is compelled to issue a permit.Do veterans need a CCW in Florida? ›
Applicants must provide proof of completion of training in the safe operation of firearms. However, honorably discharged veterans can use their DD-214 to satisfy this requirement.